[ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read

 Shades of Milk and Honey

Read Õ Shades of Milk and Honey 100 Evolve around vying for the attentions of eligible men Jane resists this fate and rightly so while her skill with glamour is remarkable it is her sister who is fair of face and therefore wins the lion’s share of the attention At the ripe old age of twenty eight Jane has resigned herself to being invisible forever But when her family’s honor is t. This was an incredibly frustrating book The charm of Austen lies in the style of writing light witty insightful elegant and able to skewer Regency life at a moment s notice And while Shades of Milk and Honey makes sure to pack in plenty of Regency manners and swooning the writing style is so jarring that I ended up reading passages aloud to other people just to confirm that they really did make no damn senseThe author reuses words at an amazing pace freuently the same word is repeated in back to back sentences sometimes three or four times in a paragraph Worse sometimes the author uses words she clearly doesn t understand droll for instance is applied to a completely humourless character multiple times and appears to have been confused with a word that means curt or short instead of amusing Sometimes she uses the archaic spelling of a word chuse sometimes she uses the modern spelling Occasionally she ll use a word that is archaic and proceeds to misuse it nuncheon does not mean lunch repeatedly When you combine these bizarre word choices with laboured sentences that are borderline incomprehensible the experience is like thumping down a stretch of rapids instead of Austen s effortless babbling brookThe plot doesn t even get started until halfway through at which point I already hate Brat and Doormat which might as well be the names of the central sisters Most of the characters in this book are so glaringly based on well known Austen characters that it seems too obvious and I waited in vain for the twist that would make them new and exciting No such luck if anything they were stripped of all endearing ualities and hammered flat into one dimensional puppets The magic elements are explained in detail but are completely incidental to the story By the end we ve given up all pretense of being in an Austen novel and have stumbled into some sort of uasi Gothic adventure scene I was just so happy to have gotten to the last pages I didn t even care anyI bought the book because I love Austen and many Austeny spin offs and because I thought the conceit of magic being a womanly art was pretty cool But now I m just wondering what the hell reviewers were thinking in recommending this read Having done a little digging it looks like Kowal is the VP of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America I can t help but wonder if the circles she moves in has caused her writing to be overrated as I have no idea why this particular book merited the sort of publicity push it s currently experiencing I wish I hadn t read it

Characters Shades of Milk and Honey

Read Õ Shades of Milk and Honey 100 Shades of Milk and Honey is an intimate portrait of Jane Ellsworth a woman ahead of her time in a world where the manipulation of glamour is considered an essential skill for a lady of uality But despite the prevalence of magic in everyday life other aspects of Dorchester’s society are not that different Jane and her sister Melody’s lives still r. I love Jane Austen and I love fantasy so you would think this book which mixes the two would be right up my alley especially since it was written by a Hugo Award winning author Can t miss and yet somehow it does Superficially it s a very Austenesue tale but it lacks most of the wit charm and complexity of Austen Jane is the plain older sister with all the talent in the family art music and magic But at age 28 she feels like she s fated to become a spinster and she spends most of the book struggling with her insecurities Frankly it got pretty tiresome Melody is her lovely 18 year old sister who doesn t have any particular talents They love each other but each is deeply jealous of what the other sister has that she lacks And they ve both developed a tendre for the same eligible gentleman Mr Dunkirk who lives on a neighboring estateIt s interesting that the use of magic called glamour in this world seems to be limited to creating visual illusions In most ways it s simply another ladylike talent like drawing singing or playing piano that well bred young women are expected to develop However there s a Mr Vincent who moves into the neighborhood who is truly an accomplished artist with his glamour illusions Jane wants to learn from his talent and magical works of art but the two of them get off on the wrong foot and develop a relationship that s prickly at bestThis struck me as simply a young adult novel or maybe a simple young adult novel I thought it was okay but on the shallow side I had no problem finishing it but I was hoping for so much Maybe I ll go re read Jonathan Strange Mr Norrell

Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal

Read Õ Shades of Milk and Honey 100 Hreatened she finds that she must push her skills to the limit in order to set things right and in the process accidentally wanders into a love story of her ownThis debut novel from an award winning talent scratches a literary itch you never knew you had Like wandering onto a secret picnic attended by Pride and Prejudice and Jonathan Strange Mr Norre. 45 starsPerfect for fans of Jane Austen that want the added flair of magic The characters fill the typical Austen tropes with their own spin A lovely story for any fan of the Regency period


10 thoughts on “[ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

  1. says: Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal Characters Shades of Milk and Honey

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read This book is like Jane Austen's works in the way that a genetically modified out of season greenhouse tomato is like a cherry Sure they're technically both classified as fruits They're red They're juicy looking They're attractive The difference is that when you bite into said GMO tomato it tastes like mealy mushy tasteless crap This book is the euivalent of a limp tasteless slice of tomato on a McDonalds' hamburger Why bother? You're just g

  2. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ I love Jane Austen and I love f

  3. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Thank you brian tanabeHave you ever slapped someone good and hard? I can still remember the one and only time I did the anger boiling up and over the near involuntary windup of the arm and spring loaded swing thr

  4. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ This was an incredibly frustrating book The charm of Austen lies in the style of writing light witty insightful elegant and able to skewer Regency life at a moment's notice And while Shades of Milk and Honey makes sure to pack in plenty of Regency manners and swooning the writing style is so jarring that I ended

  5. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ So there were many nice things in this book The Austin esue plot was interesting and the main character and her relationship with her sister was layered I really think the character was well drawn and the best thing about the book He

  6. says: Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal Characters Shades of Milk and Honey

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ This very talented writer has written a Regency romance that features a few of Jane Austen's spellings adding in a truly nifty magical system Unfortunately the magic seems little integrated with the world having almost no impact on the culture The comparison with Jane Austen might sell books but that's also kind of a high bar This story feels like a Regency romance without much of Austenesue irony or complicati

  7. says: Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Romance and Regency go hand in hand but then so does ArtAll the most talented ladies are skilled in the art of subterfuge and seeming are they not?Well not Jane She's conflicted about using Glamour and refuses to make herself seem pretty tha

  8. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

    Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ 45 starsPerfect for fans of Jane Austen that want the added flair of magic The characters fill the typical Austen tropes with their own spin A lovely story for any fan of the Regency period

  9. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

    Review ✓ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook Ò Mary Robinette Kowal [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Mary Robinette Kowal Ò 0 Free read Full review now postedThis was absolutely delightful Fantasy of manners is a subgenre that I didn’t realized I needed in my life I’ve read books that technically fit the genre such as the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare and Alison Goodman’s Dark Days Club but those both felt like YA than anything else Bec

  10. says: [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ

    [ Shades of Milk and Honey] EBOOK READ Good God I resent this book so much for not being awesome Georgette Heyer put me in the mood for another regency and combine that with fantasy? SoldI want a refund The Heyer danced along sparkly with charm; this book plodded leaving me with an overwhelming sense of claustrophobia and boredom at the shallowness a

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *